From: jcaesar@mediaone.net
To: <ml@qoole.com>
Reply-To: ml@qoole.com
Date: Mon, 13 Apr 1998 20:43:40 -0700
Subject: Re: The PornMail thingy.... Wrong Address....

no no no.  ANYONE can do it.. It's as easy as putting some email address
(say ml@qoole.com) into a form.  That's it.  Assuming someone at lithium
would do this is ludicrious--I think it's someone who may think they were
ripped of by Litihium, or didn't get along with the list.  Another
possibility is an automated robot which attempts default names at all
servers (yes, they do exist).  ml, maillist, mail-list are examples of very
common names that are attempted.  Sure it could be by accident ;) but I am
gonna give them the benefit of the doubt.  They've been nothing but helpful.

Joel

-----Original Message-----
From: Kenancy Valenwell <kbagwell@slip.net>
To: ml@qoole.com <ml@qoole.com>
Date: Monday, April 13, 1998 8:34 PM
Subject: Re: The PornMail thingy.... Wrong Address....


>As you can see, the porn thingy emailed us with a QOOLE mailing list
address
>return.  Plus, other people on this ml are getting the same thing.  It
makes
>me think that someone at littium or QOOLE.com has done this, either on
>purpose or by accident.  Either way, I would like to know if Matt or Paul
>has any info on this, or is it some sort of email server glitch.
>Ken B.
>kbagwell@slip.net
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: J. Driskell <driskell@crystal.palace.net>
>To: ml@qoole.com <ml@qoole.com>
>Date: Monday, April 13, 1998 4:24 PM
>Subject: The PornMail thingy.... Wrong Address....
>
>
>>Uh.... Ur to reply to robot@pornmail.com, not ml@qoole.com.   Either way,
>don't do it, as it says in the email, it is to verify the email address and
>will most likely open us to a whole bunch more of these ads...
>>
>>J. Driskell
>>
>>
>
>



